top of page
Search
Writer's pictureStefanie Gettemans

New Year, Same Me



How often do we hear the phrase, "New Year, New Me"? It's New Year's Eve today, and many of us are making our resolutions. We are thinking about how we are going to change ourselves for the better. I've often fought with myself. I've disliked myself for a long time. The anxiety.. the insecurities.. the wonder if I will ever "feel better". What I have always enjoyed about myself is that I am a fighter and very persistent.. Sometimes, the fight in me can be a little too strong, but overall, it has served me well. It's often hard, though, to always keep the persona of a fighter while pretending that nothing is wrong... that I feel okay. As always, some days are better than others, but often, there are some pretty shitty days. And life doesn't stop for shitty days, that's for damn sure. Work still happens, kids still need places to go, and the sun rises and sets as usual. And as it always does, another year has come to a close, and the door of the new year will open. Instead of a "New Year, New Me", I'm going with the motto of "New Year, Same Me".


 

"New Year, Same Me"

It is time to embrace myself. All of these "things" and "symptoms" that I have dealt with for as long as I can remember... they are all me. They have a name now - Sjogren's Syndrome. And, I've finally come to the stage of acceptance. This is me and will continue to be me, but it is going to give me an even bigger purpose in life. I refuse to let any of this hold me back. I will keep fighting. Some days may be more "relaxed" than my usual "go, go, go", but I'm taking Sjogren's and life head on! As I've said in a previous posts, this is giving me more of a dedication to helping people be there own health advocates, and I'm going to continue to share my story in hopes that I can help others. "New Year, Same Me" ... embracing every thing that makes me who I am. Taking those things and rocking 2020.


Happy New Year's Eve, Everyone! Make 2020 the year of YOU... and embrace everything that makes you who you are.... Make positive adjustments in your life, and don't change the things you love about yourself. Don't conform to what others want of you. Take all the good and bad in your life, and use it as a powering force to springboard into 2020. Stop each day and take a moment to breathe... do something for you each and every day... take the year one day at a time. Live and cherish every single day.


-Stefanie-

18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page