top of page
Search
Writer's pictureStefanie Gettemans

Stick this Litmus Paper in Your Eye, and Wait 5 Minutes

Well, as I mentioned earlier today, I was going to the ophthalmologist to get my eyes tested for dry eyes. Another rheumatologist wanted more objective proof in regards to my diagnosis with Sjogren's disease. Why do they check for dry eyes? Sjogren's disease often attacks the cells that produce saliva and tears. The disease is often suspected first (but not always) when a patient appears with dry eyes and mouth. The body's immune system attacks the mucous membranes and moisture-secreting glands of your eyes and mouth.


My lip biopsy in November 2019 tested positive with a focus score of greater than or equal to 1. You can read more about the results here ... https://medicine.uiowa.edu/iowaprotocols/lip-biopsy-minor-salivary-gland-histopathology-sjogrens-syndrome-sjogren-sjogrens

This would help support the reasoning for my tingling in my chin, tongue and lip, and further support my symptom of always being thirsty.


In order to have a base line test for myself, further support my diagnosis and to fulfill the request of the Chicago-based doctor, I went and did the Schirmer's dry eye test. My symptoms have not been severe, but I can definitely say that my eyes will sometimes be a bit itchy or gritty. In order to perform this test, a numbing drop is put in the eyes. Then litmus paper is put in both lower eyelids. You must keep your eyes closed for five minutes. Once the time is up, the paper is pulled from your eyelids and measured. The following image explains what the results mean...


https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/315974.php

My Schirmer's test came back positive for dry eye. The results showed that I had less than 5 mm of tears on the paper, confirming the dry eye.


I can't say that I was totally unhappy with the test results. Don't get me wrong... do I want to suffer from dry eye my whole life? Heck no! But, after receiving my official diagnosis on Christmas Eve, and going through the roller coaster of emotions, this is yet another test that supports my diagnosis... to give me comfort that I'm on the right path.



Fortunately, the eye dryness is not hindering my life at this point. I've read stories about Sjogren's suffers that deal with this on a daily basis with a variety of "treatment" - tear duct plugs, various drops, warm compresses, etc... The doctor gave me drops to try, but he explained that they may be too much for me, or I may even see a real difference. He gave me some hope that the dryness may not affect me for quite some time, if at all. But, as I get older, it may progress. Time will tell. That is the most frustrating thing about this disease. It's all about time.. The disease may progress... or it may stay the way it is, an utter annoyance. Hopefully, it just stays an annoyance.... The unfortunate part of it all is that there is no "cure" for the dry eye, or for the increasing destruction of the glands that produce the tears. Pretty much, I won't be able to cry at sad movies or my husband eating the last piece of pizza.... okay, I'm kidding... well kind-of :) My eyes won't ever go back to "normal", but I'm hoping that they never get worse. As I said, time will tell.


Just wanted to update you all on the test, and my further progression on the Sjogren's journey. Thanks for coming along.


- Stefanie -

23 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page